Skip to content

White Spaces Ireland

October 2, 2012

We held an event called ‘Filling the White Spaces’ in the Science Gallery last week.  It focused on the fact that the Analogue TV signal in Ireland is being turned off on Oct 24th and we have oceans of spectrum here to ‘get it right’ and ‘do something great’.  See our counter here.

We have posted details of the event online. You can see slides, discussion notes and photos there.

The event was very well attended and in response to the interest , Tim Forde and myself have decided to create White Spaces Ireland.  As you will see from the website White Spaces Ireland aims

  1. To disseminate information about the latest advances in spectrum access techniques
  2. To foster white space trials within Ireland that will support innovation, identify commercial opportunities and assimilate evidence for policy development and legislation
  3. To promote Ireland as a Spectrum Playground
  4. To support the goal of providing all citizens, businesses, and institutions within Ireland with access to high-quality broadband so that Ireland can reach its full economic potential.

We are currently working with interested parties in beginning the process of identifying trial opportunities., which I have to say is very exciting. Though White Spaces Ireland is open to all, even those not planning to be involved in trials.

4 Comments
  1. {
    {I have|I’ve} been {surfing|browsing} online more than {three|3|2|4} hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. {It’s|It
    is} pretty worth enough for me. {In my opinion|Personally|In my view},
    if all {webmasters|site owners|websi

  2. I’m pretty pleased to discover this great site. I wanted to thank you for your time just for this fantastic read!! I definitely really liked every bit of it and i also have you saved as a favorite to see new stuff on your website.

  3. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Many thanks

Leave a Reply

